RSS

A Far Off Place – poem, by James D. Maxon

26 Oct

A quiet place
A lonely place, where
Scattered dreams start to pace.
Not by air, nor by car
A winding road
It seems so far…

A far off place

I turned left or was it right?
A twisting path into the night.
I stumbled here and I stumbled there
I cannot find it anywhere…

A far off place

A dim light shown
The road not willing.
An easy way out
Seemed fulfilling…

A far off place

Greed and envy
Lust and hate.
The path long gone
Is it too late?…

A far off place

A stream of blood
A trail to follow.
One who’s righteous
Fills with sorrow…

A far off place

My knees give way
I answer the door.
Son of man enters
I fear no more…

A place called home

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2010 in Poems

 

4 responses to “A Far Off Place – poem, by James D. Maxon

  1. JenniferK

    January 4, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    Great poem! Keep writing more.
    God Bless!

     
  2. James D. Maxon

    January 4, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Hi Jennifer, thanks for the kinds words! I wrote that poem when I was in my early teens I believe.

     
  3. shrinksarentcheap

    August 15, 2015 at 9:20 pm

    I love afterlife poems. You should keep posting!

     
    • James D. Maxon

      August 16, 2015 at 1:46 am

      Thanks! I’ll plan on it sometime soon 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
